…and a Questionable New Year

Ah 2017, a new year filled with promise. Or rather, thanks to 2016, a year filled with foreboding, gloom, and all-encompassing dread. So yay! Happy New Year to you all! 😒

new-years-eve-1905143_1280

I had my one glass of alcohol for the year. Totally went to my head. #lightweight

Not really made any resolutions, more a list of things to do to make me better. 2017 will be the Year of Me, and I will do things to improve me as a person.

First, my body. This won’t be a start-exercising-in-the-new-year deal. I already do fitness training on a regular basis, rather, it’ll be a step up in my programme. New Year, New Reps! After Xmas, I was dreading stepping on the scales, but playing it relatively safe paid off, and I actually lost nearly a kilo over the festive period. Woop! My goal for 2017 will be to try and get my body fat % down to 18% (already at 22.9%), and increase my muscle % (already at 37.1% which is way above average).

Second, my mind. After a lot of umming an ahhing, I’ve signed up to do an Open University degree. It’ll be my 3rd (I already have a BSc and an MSc). I’ve decided to do their open degree, and combine computing and writing modules. Still unsure about my decision, nervous as all hell, and not entirely convinced my brain is as it was, but hey, we’ll find out in six years time. Hopefully this’ll improve my employability in the long term. Or, probably more likely, it’ll turn out to be as much a waste of money as my original degrees are.

Which leads me onto the third, my career. I’m still unemployed; still looking to restart my career. Of course, this one’s reliant on a) jobs in my chosen sector, and b) people actually giving me a chance and offering me an interview. Had little joy in 2016. Two interviews out of who knows how many applications. My nerves completely bombed the first. The second was a job I knew I was more than qualified for, and could do well, but didn’t get it. As a further kick in the teeth, the job was re-advertised after three months, and I didn’t even get an interview second time around. That was a shitty feeling. Every rejection is a further setback to my life, and it’s hard to stay positive. May end up having to face facts that all I’m cut out to be is a middle-aged shelf stacker in Morrisons. I’m not yet, but the writing’s on the wall. If you want to help me out, buy my novels!

On the marginally brighter side, I caught a couple more films at the cinema, which I shall now review for your reading pleasure.

Passengers

Ignore the critics (as one should always do). I actually enjoyed this a lot, and personally I thought this could have been part of a summer line up of big-budget sci-fi films. However, I do have two main gripes with the film (one spoiler alert, one less so).

The lesser spoiler alert is this. Why, in a ship that contains approximately 5,248 passengers, is there only one Autodoc station? For those who haven’t seen the film yet, the Autodoc is a medical piece of equipment that can scan, diagnose, and heal you. That seems like incredibly poor planning. Ok, so they’re only suppose to be awake for 4 months before landing, but you’re telling me, in all that time, only one person out of 5,248 is expected to be sick/injured at any one time? Alright, it’s the future, and humans MAY be less stupid and self destructive, but considering there’s a bar on board, that’s just asking for trouble.

My second gripe, and more a personal opinion than anything, is with the ending. Big spoiler alert!!!! My thought at the end: What? No kids? Maybe they didn’t want their children to suffer through what they were living through, which is a fair enough summation, but I kinda figured at the end there’d be a couple of (extremely) adult child welcoming the crew awake. I felt they’d missed a trick there, or maybe they saw that as being predictable and trite, which again, is fair enough. To those who’ve seen the film, what do you think; did you feel the end was missing something?

Rogue One

First off, RIP Carried Fisher. Of all the 2016 celeb deaths, that one hit me hard. Harder than I expected actually. Not sure if it was down to me being hormonal, or if it was all the hoping that she’d get better ending up horribly kiboshed, but I’ll admit it, I shed a tear or two.

Anyway, to the film in question.

How
Awesome

Was

Rogue

One???

Like seriously. I went in expecting a, yeah it was ok, kinda movie, and came out with mind buzzing. That was how The Force Awakens should have been. Instead, that film was basically a rehash of A New Hope. It was a total cop out. But Rogue One! I laughed, I cried, I raised an eyebrow over the fact that CGI can’t properly render a human being yet. It was epic, and I rarely use that term for a movie. If you haven’t seen it yet, do so. You won’t be disappointed.

So that’s the holidays covered. Time to go put New Year New Me into action. But as a final thought, who’s cheering at the return of Sherlock to the BBC?! Me, naturally.

Leave a Reply

